Monday, August 2, 2010

32 weeks!

It seems so slow and so fast all at the same time! Now that I'm 32 weeks along, some of the pesky first trimester symptoms seem to be back haunting me again.
  • morning sickness and vomitting :(
  • fatigue
  • loss of appetite

To add on, there are new symptoms!

  • backache
  • lower abdominal pain = trouble shifting positions in / getting out of bed

And baby's kicks seem to be a lot stronger, even a little shocking and painful at times. But I know these are signs that she's doing well, so I shouldn't be complaining. I am so looking forward to my maternity leave now :)

Oh, and we've finally found a place! Rental unit that was in good and move-in condition (luckily!), so we've already moved in over the weekend. Feels a bit surreal to finally have (well, sort of) our own love nest, so I'm trying to make the most of it before MIL moves in. It's a pretty big unit and very bright, so we're quite happy.

Will be rushing to IKEA after work with hubby to do some shopping, so shall update more another time!

Counting down to welcoming the arrival of our little angel...

Thursday, May 6, 2010

At 19 weeks...

SO, I'm almost at the midpoint of pregnancy! It's all still very amazing to me, and I get all smiley whenever I feel Baby moving. This must be the most incredible thing that has happened to me so far. Baby is the best gift that Hubby and I have ever received :)

I've read that the second trimester is supposedly the easiest one, and I have no doubts about it.
  • Still feeling nauseous occasionally
  • Definitely more energetic (no more falling asleep at 8pm!)
  • Strong urge to pee, even immediately after making a trip to the restroom. And the volume is not as much as I expect it to be, given how urgent I feel!
  • Experiencing lower back ache. It's more like butt ache though, I don't know where exactly it is, but whenever I shift seating position or attempt to stand up it hurts so much that I have to go slow-mo.

Appetite-wise, there's not been too much of an increase (thank god), though I do feel hungry in between meals. I hope Baby's getting enough nutrition!

These 2 weekends will be busy - wedding dinner this Sat, working this Sun and followed by Mother's Day dinner with family, detailed scan next Fri (yay! Can't wait to see my precious little one again!), solemnisation dinner next Sat, and Hubby will be working next Sun - I shall make full use of the chance to R&R at home.

Thinking of Baby puts me in a chirpy mood! :D

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Once upon a time...

Hubby is so creative and such a joker at times, this really cracked me up!

We had lunch at West Mall and there's this book fair at the atrium, so I asked if we should buy some books to read to Baby.

He said, "Don't have to la, I have many stories to tell Baby".

I gave him a doubtful look.

And then, he said, "Once upon a time, there was a little worm climbing on a tree. On a rainy night, lightning struck the tree. The worm become prince."

LOL!!!

Monday, April 19, 2010

17 weeks!

  • Still feel nauseous every now and then, need to make an effort to keep the food in (but much better than it was in the first trimester)
  • Fatigue is improving
  • Lower back/butt ache whenever I change sitting positions or stand up
  • Appetite has improved slightly too, though it's still a waste of money for me to go steamboats/buffets
  • Finally put on weight, I'm now 43.7kg! (from 41.0 kg)

We went for the 4th month gynae visit last Saturday. Yes, 4 months! Supposed to be able to see Baby's gender. Hubby and me were, needless to say, very excited! HOWEVER... Naughty Baby decided to keep us in suspense for a little longer by crossing his/her legs. Haha... Dr. Chin says 80% chance of a girl; we shall find out on the next visit. Hubby seemed a teeny weeny bit disappointed? Though he always claims it doesn't matter. Maybe he really wants a boy so Baby can 继承父业(舞狮)?I have mixed feelings about it. I want a boy so that I won't have to worry about him 被吃豆腐 in future, but I also want a girl as I feel that girls will be more 顾家 and fillial. And can play dress up! Hehe...

Anyway, 天下父母心,as long as Baby is healthy and strong, we'll be contented and will shower Baby with all our love.

Baby, you must grow up healthily alright? Daddy and Mommy are so looking forward to your arrival and we will love you unconditionally :)

On a sad note, my manger's sister has passed away from cancer. It has been a long 3-4 year battle for her, and she has now been relieved from the suffering. I hope her son and family will take it well, though it's easier said then done. Rest in peace...

Thursday, March 25, 2010

One down! :)

Finally the ROM is over! Was a very memorable night with all my family and best friends present to witness the moment where we pledged our love. The night went smoothly without any hiccups, and we took plenty of photographs too! Waiting eagerly for the CD from the photographer :)

Also visited the little one last Friday. Baby is so active! Couldn't stop moving. I guess Baby was as excited to see us and couldn't stop waving at us, hehe. It's amazing how Baby has grown from 1.88cm to over 6cm in 4 weeks! My womb seems a bit small for Baby now. Can't wait for the next visit in 3 weeks' time. Baby, you must grow up healthy and strong, alright?

Now that we are officially married, the next big thing will be housing. Need to start applying for bank loans, which will hopefully be rejected so we can appeal to HDB. Will try to update again soon!

Meanwhile, I am 13 weeks along.
  • Morning sickness has improved, though I still feel nauseous and vomit occasionally.
  • Still very, very, tired.
  • Appetite is not improving. I've had to take small, frequent meals.
  • Still waking up to pee in the middle of the night.

My only wish is that morning sickness will go away soon, so I can eat properly! Would be good if I had more energy to spare, too.

Hmm, I need to shop too. I am out-growing my work clothes! But it seems most maternity wear are quite expensive! Shall keep my choices open.

Weekend is here! And we'll be visiting little Wealote on Saturday! But I need to work on Sunday. Urgh. Have to think of the OIL hours to motivate myself.

Till the next post!

Monday, March 15, 2010

Countdown begins...

4 more days to our solemnisation, and 3 more days to seeing our little one!

Prep for the big day more or less done, with a few nitty gritty outstanding stuff to be done:
  • My heels. Shopping!
  • His shoes and tie, maybe whole set of clothes
  • Songs for the actual day

And then it'll be mission accomplished :)

I know I'm supposed to be feeling nervous and excited (like all other brides-to-be), but I've been feeling sick. Not just morning sickness, flu does not seem to be going away as well. Been sneezing and my stomach hurts like hell. Hope Baby is feeling alright. And been having stomachaches since the weekend, and diarrhoea this morning. Please let me get well soon! I want to be in tip top condition when I say "I do" (though in Mandarin. That is a separate story altogether).

Alright, need to get back to work. Need to clear my shit before I go on leave starting Thursday :)

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

At 10 weeks...

Symptoms very much the same, still quite bad morning sickness.

The first thing I wanna do once the morning sickness subsides is to eat a hearty meal! I have not enjoyed my food for a long, long time. Sadness.

That aside, my tummy is starting to show, and it's impossible to button some of my pants now. Have to rely solely on the zip, hehe. Need new dresses!

Ok bye.

Thursday, February 18, 2010

At 8 weeks...

The symptoms are pretty much the same, except much worse. I've been feeling nauseous the whole of this morning, and 2 days ago, I puked 80% of my lunch out. First time ever I've vomitted so, so much. Feeling sucks.

Anyways, on a happier note, we went for the first check-up yesterday, and saw our little one for the first time! So surprised to see for myself that my little baby is already in the fetal stage! We could see quite clearly the head, limbs and body. Very tiny now, at 1.88cm. Baby seemed to know that we were looking, and lay very very still for us to take a good look :) Next time we'll see Baby will be in a month's time. Can't wait to see Baby's growth!

Went for steamboat thereafter with buddies, and I think I ate like, maybe $3 worth? LOL. No choice, I just can't stand the smell of meat! Even when drinking the soup, I could only taste the meat! Damn repulsive.

As for our solemnisation, at least we've decided on the venue. What's left to prepare will be the nitty gritty stuff. We have only a month left! Gambatte!

Monday, February 8, 2010

At 7 weeks...

  • Very bad morning sickness, to the extent that I've been throwing up :(
  • Very frequent urge to pee, even waking up in the middle of the night.
  • No appetite, and find red meat very repulsive! I'm turning vegetarian.
  • Tummy is starting to protrude a little already! My pants are so tight.
  • Firmer breasts, which hurt to the touch.
  • And the tiredness just refuses to go away. I've been having problems waking up for work.

I sure hope that most of these symptoms will go away soon.

Pregnancy aside, there are still tonnes of things we have to worry about!

HDB loan has been approved, but it's a ridiculous $240k for a 5-room. Does HDB think we have $200k combined in our CPF accounts?! Guess we will have to seek MP for help.

As for our ROM, we have decided on the date, but venue still not confirmed. The only cheap hope - StarDus, has ceased rental of its venues! Sadness. Wedding bands we have more or less decided on the first pair that we saw, now waiting for the stock to be in. A fact to share: I am size 8 while he is 25! LOL.

Almost lunch, time to crack my head over what to eat again. No appetite! Sian-ness.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

O_o

Can't take it... Morning sickness is terrible, striking at any time of the day, especially bad in the mornings and afternoons...

And my breasts feel sooooo sore...

And there's 1001 work stuff to clear...

And we have yet to decide on solemnisation venue!

Also worrying if our HDB loan will be approved.

I am a sick and stressed mommy-to-be.

Monday, January 25, 2010

The Worst Thing About Being Pregnant...

IS... ...

Not licensed to smoke!

To me, that is the worst thing that has happened to me since pregancy. My cigs have been confiscated, and friends do not allow me to smoke. At all.

I know very well that this is all for the good of baby, but to have to suddenly quit at once is horrible. The urge comes every now and then, especially after meals! After each meal, I'll always feel as though there's something that I have not done. Gahh.

Guess I will have to bear with it for the sake of the little one.

Baby, now you know how much Mommy loves you :)

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Confirmation

So, I went to a GP last night, and confirmed the test kit results. Yup, am in my 4th week. Somehow I'm less nervous now, and preparing myself for what is to come. Like I predicted, it will a typhoon 2010 - promotion @ work, unexpected pregnancy, rush to get married, and owing a house. Sounds like a lot of work to do, but I believe we can do it.

Breaking the news to my mother wasn't so tough. She was quite cool about it, in fact, asking me to make our own plans and settle down. As for my father... Well, I'll see about it.


We have decided to hold our solemnisation after the chinese new year, which means sometime in March. Currently finding out more information from Yum Cha about their package as I am quite keen to hold it there. Seems Tapestry Room at CSC Bukit Batok is not a bad choice too, shall find some time to do a quick recce. Besides venue, we also need to start thinking about the dress, wedding bands, guest list and photography. Followed by applying for HBD loan and hunting for a house, maybe even renovations. So much work! Shall try not to stress myself out.


Symptoms (continued from previous post):
  • Waking up in the middle of the night (for no reason) and feeling very frustrated! I have no idea why this is happening.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

At 4 weeks...

If my iphone app is correct, I am in my 4th week of pregnancy (will be seeing a doctor tonight to confirm the test results).

Symptoms:
  • Period overdue by 3 days, which triggered the alarm as mine has always been quite regular
  • Nausea, especially after lunch and dinner
  • Higher night body temperature
  • The slightest hint of cramps, which fooled me into thinking that my period would be coming
  • Tender breasts and acne break-out (just like the usual PMS symptoms)
  • Pangs of hunger especially at night
  • All-day tiredness
  • Increased urge to pee

So far it's all endurable, except for the nausea and the pee part which is starting to get on my nerves. I've been waking up in the middle of the night! Affecting my usually good, long sleep.

This is all so nerve-wrecking and exciting at the same time.

I only pray to have a healthy baby.

The longest minute...


That must have been the longest minute most woman encounter. As the line grew visible...

Right, so it's confirmed. I'm officially unwed and pregnant. A night's sleep(less-ness) later, there are far too many thoughts running through my mind, and I'm not quick enough to jot down each one. The top ones are probably:

  1. Abortion is definitely out of the question. I do not want to go through that same pain again.

  2. Get married? He's willing, but am I really sure that he is the one I want for life? Sometimes I think yes, but sometimes I feel otherwise. And this leads to the next question.

  3. Get married when? How? We definitely don't have the money and time to hold a lavish dinner. Simple ROM? Even though we have talked about it before, we don't have any concrete plans. Which means we have to hold a whirlwind ROM, from scratch.

  4. How do I break the news to my family? Especially my father? To put it mildly, they are not on good terms. I don't even know if he will turn up for my wedding.

  5. Where will we stay? He's currently staying at my place. We have to get our own place, but how long will that take? We definitely have to settle this before the little one pops out.

I have now a thousand and one questions in my mind, but he seems comparatively relaxed. In fact he is quite thrilled about it. Like I told him, the little one is back to find us, 4 years later.

Ultimately, I know for sure that - Baby, Mommy will not let you go this time.